Places & Journeys

Farming Settlements




The gateway to the Barossa from the northeastern end of the region, Truro lies in the ranges 14km northeast of Nuriootpa. The town was settled in 1850 by Cornish miners keen to make their fortune from copper found nearby. But the unsuccessful mines were soon abandoned for cereal farming and grazing. The town has recently become a Mecca for lovers of olives – a thriving new Barossa industry and, with the Sturt Highway running straight up the main street, it is a convenient stop for visitors travelling to or from the Barossa. Visitors can stay overnight in the lovingly restored Maison Cottages. History buffs can visit the Sturt Memorial Cairn. It is one of a chain of commemorative cairns erected in 1944, along the route of the famous expedition to Central Australia, led by Captain Charles Sturt. Vistors may also explore the interesting buildings dating back to the 1850s.